Time Alive: 228.2 hrs
Humanity: 2,875

Murders: 10
Bandit Kills: 3
Deaths: 51
Zombies Killed: 1,834

Wearing a ghillie suit!
I'm not a bandit!
Whilst I have always thoroughly enjoyed playing PC games, when it comes to PC's themselves I am actually pretty awful. I have no idea when it comes to graphics cards, memory, processors or anything past a basic level of understanding. What I used to do was walk into a shop tell a man what games I wanted to play, then ask him to give me a PC that I could happily play said games on then pay him. Sadly I am now an impoverished student and am unable to afford such luxuries. I have had some computer problems recently and had to put a new graphics card in, which I just straight swapped. Thing is that it wasn't running games overly well as it was, getting between 12 -25 FPS on DayZ (or 4 in elektro when getting shot) So I have been looking at building myself a new PC (steambox type affair) for under £350. I know some of you guys are very knowledgeable so thought I'd ask some opinions. I really need to keep costs down so here are my current specs in case anyone can see where I can upgrade.

Intel Q6600 Processor
(2.4GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 8MB Cache)
4GB Memory
1TB Hard Drive
512MB nVidia GeForce 9600GT Graphics card

The guy in my local shop suggested that I get a 9800 GTX+ graphics card at least, and need to get a 600w Power Supply Unit.

I fully expect some chuckling and knowing winks at my complete lack of PC knowledge, so if you could start off with helpful info, and then mock me that'd be great.

Post subject: Re: Anyone fancy helping a computer noob
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:06 pm 
Site Admin

IGN: Seaweed
Current Life: 11.8 hrs
Time Alive: 1242.5 hrs
Humanity: -193,116

Murders: 162
Bandit Kills: 69
Deaths: 122
Zombies Killed: 7,911

I'm a bandit!